Martus automatically includes three permanent views: All, Saved, and Received. (These default labels are different from some earlier versions of Martus. If you upgrade from a version earlier than Martus 5.0, your old labels will automatically be migrated to this new folder structure, so your records will not be lost.)
All records on your local machine will be listed under the All view.
The Saved view contains all records that you have saved, whether they are versioned or not or shared with contacts, and whether they have been sent to the server or not.
This view contains records you’ve received from another Martus user. These records are included in searches and you can copy or move them to different folders.
An Imported Records folder will be created if you load any records into Martus using the Import Record icon in the Martus sidebar.
Create additional folders to categorize records according to your interests or current projects.
Note: You cannot use punctuation in a folder name, but you can include spaces. You can also use characters from non-Latin alphabets, such as Arabic or Russian.
You can’t rename permanent views such as All, Saved, and Received.
You can rename the Imported Records folder, however Martus will create a new Imported Records folder the next time you import data into Martus.
Deleting a folder removes the folder and moves all records under that label to the Trash.
Note: The multiple listings will still be considered one record.
Note: You may also create a new folder in which to save your search results using the Add icon in the Martus sidebar and then following the above directions after performing a search.
Unlike moving a record, copying a record creates a new record based on the original. The new record must be renamed to differentiate it from the original.
Note: Only one record can be copied at a time.
Deleting a record from a folder does not delete the record from your local device or the server. The record moves to the Trash, located in the Martus sidebar where it can still be viewed or moved, but not edited.
Note: The Delete icon is not active in the All folder, because the All folder includes records that are in the Trash. Select another folder, such as Saved, to delete a record.
Once you delete a record from your hard drive, you cannot retrieve it unless it is stored on the server.
You do not need to do anything further to ensure that deleted records are removed from your hard drive. Unlike most computer data, Martus records are encrypted files on your hard drive—including your own records, records created by other people, and deleted records. Therefore, unless someone gains access to your Martus account, they cannot read the records you store in your folders or the records you’ve deleted.
Once you delete a record from the server, you cannot retrieve it unless you have a local or exported copy.
Note: If the Delete from Server option is not available for the record you have selected, the record has either not been uploaded to the server or is a record shared with you by another Martus account. Shared records cannot be deleted from the server by anyone but their original author.
Martus allows you to export encrypted (*.mba) and unencrypted (*.xml) record files which can then be imported back into Martus.
Encrypted records are exported as .mba (Martus Bulletin Archive) files.
When exporting unencrypted records, all information will be saved as plain text and anyone who gets a copy of the file will be able to read its contents. These files can be used to import record data back into Martus or into another application.
You can import encrypted .mba record files or unencrypted XML record files.
To find out more about creating Martus XML import files from your electronic data (for example, spreadsheets or other databases), please see examples in the Martus source-code (available on the Martus CD or at the Github Archive - Martus) and email email@example.com if you need additional assistance.
If you have a very large file to import, or your import has a lot of special characters in it (e.g. < > ' " ) you may receive import errors. If the size of the file is the issue, you can try splitting into smaller files. Please contact firstname.lastname@example.org if you need help with any import issues.
If you are logged into a Martus account, you will need to exit the application to switch the user interface language.
For more language help see Languages in the Troubleshooting section.
View Current Server Connection
Note: Server compliance guidelines are available at martus.org, in the “Download Martus Server” section. Compliant servers are expected to be secure; servers that deviate from the server compliance guidelines may be less secure. If you have questions about whether a server meets your needs, ask the person who determines policies for using Martus in your organization—or send a message to email@example.com.
Burmese script needs Zagwyi enabled which you can do by clicking the box under system preferences. To change the interface language you must re-enter Martus.
Note: This action only affects new records saved to the server after updating this option.
Note: If you try to import a template created by an account that is not one of your Contact accounts (or your current account), Martus will warn you before you load the template.
Note: If you are using multiple templates, we recommend choosing descriptive filenames for each template.
Note: Templates can be imported during account creation or in the Template Manager by any Martus account holder to whom you have given your Martus Account Access Token or the exported *.mct file.